Disco Bay: Recall Petitioners Kicked Out of Safeway

There was some police activity today in Discovery Bay as some of the petitioners who wish to recall CSD Director Brian Dawson were booted from a Safeway parking lot for setting up a tent and trespassing.

While I cannot confirm, rumor has it these same folks had a non-resident collecting signatures which violates campaign law—specifically speaking, it appears to be Carol Jackson which a source has confirmed. If it is Carol Jackson, there are some serious problems now with the recall effort and it should be thrown out.

Ms. Jacksons Facebook page, which I screen captured, states that she lives in Brentwood, not Discovery Bay. Which violates the rules.


(Click the above Photo to enlarge)

Per the Procedure for Recalling State and Local Officials,  “The recall petition can be circulated only by registered voters in the jurisdiction who are qualified to vote for the officer sought to be recalled. ” (§§322, 11045)

Ms. Jackson appears quite clearly to be holding a recall (signature) petition in her hand.  It is stated pretty clearly in the rules that you must be a resident of the district. Like I said, I cannot confirm she is a resident of Discovery Bay, but its worth looking into to make sure they are following the law.

Using some common sense, how can one seek a recall when the ones calling for it continue to break campaign laws?  If you can recall, they also failed to advertise a sticker a few months back on the Discovery Bay Press newspaper.

Plain and simple, these folks are hypocrites. Why would these people even have the audacity to set up a tent in a parking lot without a permit as if this is an “occupy” movement.

This is just more ammo not to support any recall movement if you ask me as these folks are now breaking the law. I don’t like bullies and that is just what these petitioners are.

Rather than fight amongst ourselves, its time we put the differences aside and work to better East County, not stay divided over non-issues such as the reasons behind the recall.

About burkforoakley

I call it like I see it . I love my city, I love my community and I want what is best for the people around me. Do the right thing, I will support you. Do the wrong thing, I will oppose you!
This entry was posted in Discovery Bay, East County. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Disco Bay: Recall Petitioners Kicked Out of Safeway

  1. Carol lives in Brentwood. I am the newsletter editor of the Republican group she is in, and for a very long time I have sent her copy to her home in Brentwood. She also uses her Brentwood address in our clubs roster. Didn’t she have an issue with voter fraud because of this type of thing??
    And as a side note, the petitioners also were asked to leave Safeway just 2 days ago. Take a hint people!!!

  2. Bob says:

    If was going to play caption this photo my choice would be, ‘When a recall effort goes off the rails’

    Some pertinent facts as I know them which put this in better perspective:

    – The petitioners had earlier in the week issued a notice via a letter to the Editor that they would be at Safeway to collect signatures.

    – On Friday they were informed by Safeway representatives and in the witness of a local newspaper person that they were no longer allowed on the property for signature collection. This due to multiple complaints from patrons who were being stalked and/or harassed for signatures there previously.

    – For reasons not yet clear, Don Flint(blocked in the photo, but speaking to Sheriff’s Deputies) decides to ignore Safeway’s notice from the day before. I was alerted to their presence at the site by a friend this morning. Understanding the circumstances I had to go see it for myself. Even for Don, this seemed like a new watermark for provocative acts by him choosing to willfully ignore a request to respect private property rights.

    – Flint and the ladies accompanying him were given a notice of trespass by Safeway representatives at some point shortly after their arrival this morning. When they refused to leave, citing earlier an earlier approval that had since been rescinded, Sheriff’s Deputies were called.

    – It was such a bold and intentionally unlawful act that I had to take a picture. I couldn’t believe that Don and his group were there in the first place, then the shock grew as he CHALLENGED the Sheriff’s Deputies who had responded!!

    – As I approached the booth to snap the picture I was approached by a courteous young woman who asked if I wanted to sign the petition, but who’s tone changed when she saw me holding the camera. She asked if I was the person who had called police. I didn’t reply to her, though I hadn’t because that issue is between Safeway and the recall group. She then stated to me, and this was key; that they previously had permission(I believe from weeks ago), but it had been withdrawn for reasons she did not understand. So there is no doubt that these folks were occupying the site knowing full well they had been asked to leave. She admitted this directly.

    – I went about my business in the store and then watched from a distance to see how it played out. I was aware at the time that Safeway had their own security people en route from Corporate, but wanted to see how far Don intended to take it. I wasn’t there to harass or mock. With one false police claim filed by this group(another story in itself) I wasn’t looking for a repeat.

    If I hadn’t seen this play out before my own eyes I wouldn’t have believed it. I have more insight to this small group of troublemaker antics than most. Because I’ve read a lot of their correspondence attacks on various government agencies, officials and staff over the years. But this was taking it to a whole new level!!

    So we have our community being LECTURED by a group of people who think their activities are somehow above the law. Private property and privacy rights appear to be just inconveniences to their effort which they can ignore at will.

    I didn’t realize the significance of Ms. Jackson’s presence at the time of the pic, because I had to go back and refresh my memory on recall election laws. Clearly the one cited above was violated, but how many others that we haven’t discovered yet?

    Sorry, folks, this has become like a really, really bad Jerry Springer episode.

    I’ve been there, done that on recall petitions and various community signature collection campaigns in this community since moving here. I would NEVER cross the line to violating property rights and NEVER push the issue with law enforcement with a lawful request to vacate is delivered. You absolutely have to go out of your way to respect the laws or your campaign is rendered illegitimate.

    I think we’re clearly seeing a recall campaign that is off the rails as a result of desperation on the part of few individuals. It is my opinion that it has been exploitive in misleading in its justification all along. Anyone who knows the primary petitioners behind this effort know this doesn’t have a thing to do with some moral higher standard being promoted. Because the individuals promoting don’t have any such moral standard for their own actions!

    This is hypocrisy personified. It’s a bad joke and just another black mark on this community from the same small group of malcontents who are only in it for the power trip. Largely a bunch of cowards who won’t run for public office for fear they would have to personally accept some of the mountains of merciless criticism they pile on our local officials. This isn’t really about Brian Dawson and it isn’t about supposed fear of violence. I have emails from some of these people who in private tell you they are not afraid of Brian, but in public claim they are doing this so they won’t be afraid of attending meetings.

    You can’t keep a straight face reading the bald faced lies of these people!

    The best approach until recently has been to largely ignore them. But I think it’s going to require the community to rise up and tell them to knock it off. They have already cost this district and the citizen rate payers TENS OF THOUSANDS of dollars in legal fees and wasted staff time dealing with incidents similar to this which are normally outside public view.

    So I’m appealing to Don Flint, Bill Richardson, Mark Doran, Jeff Barber & cohorts; Find something better to do with your copious amounts of free time. Man up and run for office if you don’t like how it’s being done. But this silent war you are waging has reached intolerable levels and you have turned this community into a circus act, laughingstock in the County.

    For Ms. Jackson, this is the second time in as many major election cycles that you have been engaging in illegal campaign activities. Please confine your junk to your hometown of Brentwood where perhaps they have higher tolerance levels.

    I suspect there will be plenty of denials and return fire accusations. Knock yourselves out if you’re so inclined. But have the decency to use your real names for a change instead of your typical cowardly tactic of aliases, and for the love of God, would someone please explain IP routing technology to Mr. Doran so we can stop seeing a dozen different alias’ emanating from his computer.

    I had stayed far away from this issue for months. But I couldn’t take it any longer when I saw the merciless attacks and harassment on Brian Dawson and his family continued. I’m not making excuses for any incident in question here. That’s for a legal system to sort out. But I made an honest effort to appeal to these folks before they collected the first public signature. But they weren’t interested in reasoning and didn’t want to hear my objections to the CLEAR civil rights violations they are engaging in. To this day Don Flint thinks people are required to defends themselves publicly to his relentless accusations and brow beating.

    Don, which part of Miranda rights are you struggling with?:

    “You have the right to remain silent. Anything you say can and will be used against you in a court of law”.

    Apparently when one is being attacked by this group, people don’t enjoy said rights!. You will be harassed and belittled constantly. For a kicker, our local paper might even play a role in facilitating your effort by publishing one of Don’s little hit pieces. Because heaven knows he doesn’t publish enough libelous and defamatory crap on his smear site.

    When does this community rise up and put a stop to this garbage? When does common decency return? When do people acknowledge and then stand up for the belief that while we can have our political differences on sometimes passionate issues, you cannot and MUST NOT simply run down an individual with careless disregard for his civil rights and the law?

    I have personally had to endure false accusations from this group that I authored an email blast which I had nothing to do with. In fact, I disagree with the language and tactic used. I’ve stated that previously. I have also been accused of harassing signature efforts previously when all I did was inform the individuals present that I was aware they were on the property without proper express permission.

    It’s the vilify the victims game these people use over and over.

    For Don, Mark, Bill and Jeff, if you’re going to lecture others within our community on appropriate behavior, how about you start by explaining the behavior of your group today?

    • Peter says:

      I find it amazing that police presence, with no arrest or citations given, makes people conclude a crime has taken place. Yet Dawson has been ARRESTED and CHARGED with spousal abuse and people seem to think it was just a misunderstanding, your hypocrisy astounds me.

      • Bob says:

        Peter, you try too hard.

        You’ll have to ask Safeway why they chose not to press charges, but common sense should tell you it would be a PR disaster. However had Don pushed the issue much more than he did I’m guessing they would have crossed that bridge.

        But to your original assertion, are you claiming the recall proponents were not trespassing? If that’s the case, why did they leave? Why did they feel the need to involve non eligible signature collectors?

        That’s what the topic is about as much as you would like to change the subject. Why have none of the primaries mentioned shown the integrity to address those issues? They(you?) have duped a whole lot of people.

        Don and Mark were told twice on Friday that his was not allowed and they flagrantly disregarded Safeway’s wishes.

        Democratic process that you people want to preach about includes following the laws governing a recall. Your group did not do that. Your recall failure will be on you and by your own hands. It’s not me or anyone else who made the decison for you to violate the laws governing the process. You made that choice.

        You’re only making yourselves look foolish with the continued denial and bizarre attempt to defend the trespassing incident.

        What is even more puzzling is your group claimed to the papers weeks ago you had your signature numbers. So why are you not in Martinez now turinng them in? Did you lie to the newspapers too?

  3. Some one who fears Dawson says:

    Why are people so vigorously defending a wife beater? A point I would like to make is that as a town Discovery Bay seems to be condoning violence from its leaders; first Dawson tries to fight a member of the public who disagreed with him, then threatens the President and now has been arrested for hitting his wife. I hope people can realize violence is usually not the answer and hitting your wife is always wrong.

  4. For someone who doesn’t use their name , to claim he is a wife beater is easy to do when you repeat talking points. How do you know this occurred? Where is the police report when he tried to suppository fight someone from the public? Where is the proof he beat his wife? When you use your name I’ll take you more seriously.

    • John says:

      From what I have heard and seen, the General Manager of Discovery Bay had and destroyed proof of Mr. Dawson threatened the President, and I am sure there are witnesses, I know of Mr. Doran being there, for his confrontation of Mr. Scruggs in the parking lot. I suppose you could be right and the charge against him for spousal abuse could be frivolous, but for some reason I see a pattern of violence that I can not ignore.

  5. HYPOCTRIT says:

    I think the wife beating defenders are worried.
    They have to exaggerate anything they can to attempt a derail.
    Who was arrested for trespassing here?
    No one that I know of.
    Who was arrested for domestic violence?
    Brian Dawson?
    Who was arrested, taken to jail and maybe will return?
    Brian Dawson?
    Who are the real hypocrites of the recall?
    Bob, Dave, Mike, Jennifer, and the Chicago/Disco Political Corrupt Group.
    Who went to allow the democratic process to take its course?
    Who went to disrupt the democratic process any way they can?
    Yes, you know who you are.

    • Bob says:

      Nobody is defending wife beating here, bozo without a name.

      You really should consider a better PR spokesperson for your clown team. I don’t know if that was posted after drowning yourself in a bottle, but you can’t even string a grammatcally correct sentence together in that mess.

      Denying the trespassing or any wrong doing is just classic! You lecture on innuendo in the other thread, drop this smoldering pile of poop here and you’ll probably still wonder why I laugh out loud at the complete state of denial your little group is engaged in.

      You wouldn’t know democratic process over there in your world of mob rule.

      John, so you just accused the GM of a crime based on a bogus story you got from Doran?

      Pure genius.

      • Peter says:

        Bob were any of the people in front of Safeway arrested? By the way you are absolutely defending a wife beater by saying Dawson should not resign, it has been shown that he is prone to violence and when he eventually hauls off and hits a member of the public, which almost happened before, the blame will be laid at the feet of you and your group.

      • Brian Dawson says:

        Peter and John and all others,

        If you have any questions and want to have a conversation about these false allegations, please feel free to contact me. 925-219-5842 or you can e-mail me at dawson.j.brian@gmail.com.

      • @ Peter, it doesn’t matter if they were arrested or not, they got the boot for breaking a law. Just because someone is saying they should not resign does not mean he is defending a wife beater because in speaking with Jessica Dawson, she says he didn’t beat her. So therefore, he is not a wife beater you big dummy!

    • Not a christian in the lot of recall proponents says:

      Mark Doran, Don Flint, Jeff Barber, Bill Richardson, Eric item, Heather Item These people are godless, wicked, hypocritical dangers to our community. they spend their time on witch hunts and love destroying human beings. Character does matter and these people have none. They have never done anything in this community but spread hatred, bigotry, and homophobia. These are not the people that I want making moral decisions for me. God will punish the wicked!

      • John says:

        What have these people done other than try to recall a violent man from having a position of power in Discovery Bay? Again people seem to be ok with wife beaters but upset when citizens come out against violent people like Mr. Dawson

      • John says:

        PS I think God would be a little more upset with the guy charged with spousal abuse an child endangerment than anything that the recall proponents have done…

      • God is all around us. says:

        John, I think you know little of god and a lot about propaganda. These people are wicked and all you have to do is read Isiah to see what god thinks of that.

  6. HYPOCTRIT says:

    Brian,
    I tried calling and could not get through. Did you replace the phone after you ripped it off the wall so your wife would not call the police?

    • 149.169.212.175 says:

      Jordon Flint don’t you have anything better to do?

      • Jordan Flint says:

        I heard I was mentioned on this site, I do support the recall effort but have not posted anything on this site.

      • Bob says:

        Jordan, are you registered to vote for the next election?

        I’ll give you props for having the stones to use your real name, but you should look into who in your household is using your email address.

    • You didn't post says:

      Yet you are here this quick?
      It must be a different ASU student with a family AX to grind.
      How’s volleyball treating you, Jordan?

  7. For those of you who are so comfortable to freely call Brian Dawson a wife beater, who died and made you judge and jury? You see, you believe you are fighting a person, Mr. Dawson. I personally don’t believe Mr. Dawson to be a wife beater or any type of danger to anyone in this community. What I am fighting is much bigger than this very small issue. I am fighting for my 6th Amendment Right. You remember, the right to a fair trial. I am sick of watching my freedoms go down the drain- and I cannot put up with anyone trying to dismantle the ones that I have left. And then you try to preach your “democratic system of government”?? You can’t even live by it, so don’t preach it. So, continue your frivolous bickering if you must, but I will be busy doing my part in standing up for the rights so many of us take for granted.

  8. HYPOCTRIT says:

    JM says;
    For those of you who are so comfortable to freely call Brian Dawson a wife beater, who died and made you judge and jury?

    Let me venture out on a limb Jennifer, The same people who freely call the re-call people trespassers in a public shopping center. Bob Mankin and his cohorts of slime.

    Jennifer , what a dingaling.

    • Bob says:

      So your group has regressed to not knowing the difference between public and private property now? Should I slap a name tag on you now in case this amnesia thing gets worse?

      You sound suspiciously like one of the misogynistic core group of proponents I heard making comments at Starbucks the other morning to a female town staff member. You didn’t see me. But you were heard you loud and clear. I guess that bullying thing is a 24/7 natural for you, especially with women.

      If the timing was correct, that was probably right after you got the “you’re outta here” note from the Safeway folks Friday. Which, as we know, you chose to ignore.

  9. John says:

    I would like to start with an apology to Mr. Dawson, I should have not used the term wife beater, the charge is spousal battery, and you have not been convicted. I truly am sorry for using the wife beater label and it will not happen again.

    Burk I am curious about your policy of back tracing IP addresses, do you do that for everyone or simply for those that disagree with your point of view? Now before some nameless person comes and call me a coward for posting as “John” there are only four people that have posted their name as far as I can tell, Jennifer Mixon, Jordan Flint, Brian Dawson, and Burk.

    By the way Burk, since you are in the habit of tracing IP addresses and guessing people that are posting would it be too much trouble for you to identify the person accusing the proponents of the recall of bigotry and homophobia? I will understand if you choose not to because he agrees with you. Along the same lines, Burk you took a post from “Bob” and decided that it deserved its own thread, for someone that does not like anonymous posts that is an odd decision.

    “Bob” are you going to apologize to the recall proponents now that the trespassing issue was settled at the board meeting with the Sheriff saying that there was no trespassing? I have apologized for my mistake now you need to for yours.

  10. Bob says:

    Civil trespassing is only settled in courts of law. Not in internet forums. Nor is it a chargeable offense by law enforcement. Apparently you don’t understand the difference between civil and criminal trespass. You committed the former and were on your way to the latter because legal correspondence from the tenant had been handed to you. The Sheriff’s Deputy purview is only criminal issues and public safety. Such as idiots taking up 3 parking stalls and risking being run over.

    I had a 10 minute conversation with the Lt. post meeting. He was also unaware of the contact your group had received from Safeway on Friday. Don’t look a gift horse in the mouth on this one. He did you a favor with that reply.

    What you need to do is stop bullsheeting the community and hand in your petition. You told multiple newspaper people 6 weeks ago you had the numbers, yet only 2 days ago Don was email carpet bombing BRENTWOOD residents(probably old Measure F mailing lists) looking for signatures. Screaming sign of desperation and a group who is lying to keep up appearances.

    Submit your signatures so we can move forward the process. You have several questions to answer and a few individuals with potential personal liability here. Read the recall petition rules and penalties for slander such as the wife beater claim your people have been making door to door during your collection efforts. Clear misdemeanor violation and there are multiple witnesses. You’ve just admitted here your group has been knowingly making false statements.

    I asked Jordan earlier about his voter registration status and it went silent. Is Don dumb enough that he would risk a teenager’s reputation in this idiotic campaign? Seriously? Because that’s a guy with an obsession who isn’t hitting on all cylinders.

    BTW, ru36 in your email addy originating from that computer? Really? How appropriate that you associated yourself with a former criminal group from DB. Did you know when the leader was busted by law enforcement he was reaching for a gun?

    Appears to be more to you than the alias let’s on, John.

Leave a Reply

