A Big Fat No To Ironhouse Fee Increases

Rowena Coetsee of the Contra Costa Times put out something today that is flying under the radar to many Oakley residents where the Ironhouse Sanitary District is hosting a public hearing on proposed rate increases.

The fees are very minimal at just $13.80 ($654.30 annual), but I do not really care because last month the board was discussing and were likely going to move forward with a $5 million solar project–or as they would call it an investment.

If your free tonight, I’d urge you to show and speak out against any fee increases on residents or developers.

Below is the article from the Times.

Ironhouse mulls raising developer fees

Customers of Ironhouse Sanitary District are invited to a public hearing the agency is holding Tuesday on a proposed rate increase.

The meeting is at 7 p.m. at district offices, 450 Walnut Meadows, Oakley.

Board members are considering raising the trunkline capacity fee on new development by $13.80, which would bring the annual amount to $654.30 for every residential or commercial structure built. They also are contemplating raising the plant capacity fee by $71.70 to $3,403.20 on each of these new buildings.

The trunkline fee is to cover the cost of installing the larger sewer pipes used in hook-ups; the plant capacity fee will go toward paying off the loan the district took out to build its new wastewater treatment plant.

The increases are intended to help the district keep up with inflation of construction costs, which as of last month was running 2.2 percent in the Bay Area.

If the board adopts the increases, they will take effect 60 days later.

About burkforoakley

I call it like I see it . I love my city, I love my community and I want what is best for the people around me. Do the right thing, I will support you. Do the wrong thing, I will oppose you!
This entry was posted in Around Oakley. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

