Oakley Teen Life Saved by PE Teachers – Donations Sought

The actions of two teachers saved the life of a middle school student on October 27, 2011. This is the kind of behavior that makes Oakley’s such a wonderful community to be a part of as people step into action when duty calls.  Rather than wait for emergency personnel, the two jumped into action without hesitation.

According to the Oakley Press, Vicki Simmons and Patrick James actions during an emergency saved the life of 13-year-old Ignacio Pena.

During a run, Pena was face down on the ground and not breathing nor responding to the calling of his name. That is when both Simmons and James rescue effort began.

As of Press time, Pena was recovering in the hospital, eating and drinking on his own and beginning to communicate more readily with his doctors and family.

The Oakley school community has come together to establish an account in Ignacio’s name at the Bank of the West in Oakley. A fundraiser for the family is also being planned.

To contribute, call O’Hara Park Middle School at 925-625-5060 or Bank of the West at 925-625-2211.

Oakley Press Article:

http://thepress.net/view/full_story/16470945/article-Quick-action-saves-Oakley-teen-?instance=topstories_1

About burkforoakley

I call it like I see it . I love my city, I love my community and I want what is best for the people around me. Do the right thing, I will support you. Do the wrong thing, I will oppose you!
This entry was posted in Random. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

