Community Stepped Up for Friends of Oakley

I am going to keep this short until all “Wrap it Up” events have been completed, but I am proud of this community and how much they have stepped up!

Last night, I had the opportunity to attend the “Wrap it Up” event for Friends of Oakley and arrived to people wrapping gifts, sorting food, and coming together for the greater good of the community.

It seemed like the gifts and food did not stop arriving as items were being delivered throughout the event. Councilman Kevin Romick even arrived with a donated bike!

I was amazed at how volunteers worked quickly like a well-oiled machine and got the job done quickly—even with the influx of new donated items. The volunteers were amazing and so was the dedication to the job at hand. With that atmosphere, it made the evening exciting to say the least.

Needless to say, it was impactful of how I perceive this community and a reminder of why my family and I moved to Oakley. I invested in not only a house, but I invested in the community! We truly do have an amazing community of caring people who come together in a time of need.

From the number of people who have held fundraisers, donated money, provided toys and food, you all deserve a pat on the back. Times are tough, but you all stepped up far greater than anyone expected. You spread the word of the horrible event that transpired and it spread like wildfire and the problem was corrected.

In attending the original “Wrap it Up” event on November 29 I can remember feeling very deflated and sick to my stomach when I found out everything was stolen—but that all went away when I saw Jim Frazier shopping at Toys R’Us with a donation from Wells Fargo and will forever remember “you gotta include a Buzz Lightyear”.

That is when I knew everything would be okay. That video clip was priceless.

Support Friends of Oakley

To continue to support friends of Oakley, Please make checks out to Friends of Oakley and either drop them off at Oakley City Hall or mail them to our address at:

Friends of Oakley
2063 Main Street #250
Oakley, CA 94561

http://friendsofoakley.webs.com/

Remaining Wrap it Up events are:
Thursday, December 8
Monday, December 12

Oakley Christmas Basket Distribution
Sunday, December 18

About burkforoakley

I call it like I see it . I love my city, I love my community and I want what is best for the people around me. Do the right thing, I will support you. Do the wrong thing, I will oppose you!
This entry was posted in Around Oakley, Friends of Oakley. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

