Vasco Road Traffic Fines Now Double

Although I posted this in early November, people need to be reminded to watch their speed on Vasco road as today traffic fines are now double the on a 19-mile stretch of Vasco Road between Livermore and Brentwood.   This double fine zone will be in effect until 2017.

The double-fine stretch of Vasco Road runs between the Interstate 580 junction in Alameda County and the Walnut Boulevard intersection in Brentwood.

Originally, the double-fine status was put in place in 2003, but expired two years ago and had to be ratified again by the state and both counties (AB 348 Amended).  It would be nice for the CC Times to mention why those in charge let it expire in the first place, but I guess this is neither the time nor place to point fingers—we should simply be happy the double-fine has been put back in place.

The Contra Costa Times reports via the most recent California Highway Patrol data the county used, between 1996 and 2006, Vasco had 330 crashes, the highest number happening in 2003, when there were 41 collisions. Six of the 330 included at least one fatality, with 16 people dying in collisions between 1996 and August 2003, when some safety efforts began, Lau said.

On a side note, I find it odd the CC Times spoke about the new safety improvement project but did not get a quote from Supervisor Mary Nejedly Piepho, who recently had the ribbon cutting. Instead, they decided to quote Supervisor Federal Glover, of Pittsburg.

Contra Costa Times Article:
http://www.contracostatimes.com/top-stories/ci_19648701

AB 348   AMENDED

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/11-12/bill/asm/ab_0301-0350/ab_348_bill_20110413_amended_asm_v97.html

About burkforoakley

I call it like I see it . I love my city, I love my community and I want what is best for the people around me. Do the right thing, I will support you. Do the wrong thing, I will oppose you!
This entry was posted in Around Oakley, East County, Random. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

