Bethel Island man sentenced to life in prison for Oakley bar owner’s 1993 murder

I thought I’d share this bit of news via KTVU.com

MARTINEZ, Calif. — Nearly two decades after a robbery and shooting that killed an Oakley bar owner, Bethel Island man Edward Byrns was sentenced Friday to life without the possibility of parole for his murder.

A jury last year convicted Byrns, 49, on charges of premeditated, first-degree murder with a gun enhancement for fatally shooting 55-year-old Brentwood resident Louis Fernandez during a robbery on Jan. 14, 1993.

The shooting occurred at Fernandez’s Oakley bar, Ikes Acme Club, on Main and Third streets.

Detectives followed several leads at the time of the slaying, but could not determine a suspect, according to Deputy District Attorney Mary Knox.

With the help of a grant from the National Institute of Justice to fund cold case investigations, investigators in 2010 were able to link Byrns to the murder after finding his DNA on beer bottles from the scene.

For the rest of the article, visit KTVU

About burkforoakley

I call it like I see it . I love my city, I love my community and I want what is best for the people around me. Do the right thing, I will support you. Do the wrong thing, I will oppose you!
This entry was posted in Around Oakley, Police Dept.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

