Relinquishment of Highway 4 Moves Forward For Oakley

Just a quick update…

There is some fantastic news that occurred last night for the City of Oakley as the City is now one step closer to taking over control of Highway 4-Main Street.  Last night, paperwork was signed that allows for the relinquishment of Highway 4 from CALTRANS and transfers it over to Oakley’s control.

The final hurdle will now occur on January 25 where there the California Transportation Commission (CTC) will offer a final review and approval of the paperwork. The final exchange will occur in mid-February.

Currently, the city is not allowed to make any changes to the road unless there is CALTRANS approval—even if it’s a minor striping change. This relinquishment means no more CALTRANS bureaucracy to deal with on this road. Meaning projects can occur faster and smoother than in the past.

The big benefit, Oakley can now begin its downtown revitalization.

About burkforoakley

I call it like I see it . I love my city, I love my community and I want what is best for the people around me. Do the right thing, I will support you. Do the wrong thing, I will oppose you!
This entry was posted in Around Oakley, California, Contra Costa County, East County. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

