Oakley Police Dog Featured in Competing Local Papers

It’s a great day to be Oakley’s newest police dog, Oleg, as both the Oakley Press and Contra Costa Times coincidentally featured the rookie cop along with his handler Officer Dave Riddle.

Oleg was a gift to the community as CA State Assembly candidate Jim Frazier, president of Friends of Oakley, helped organize fundraisers and spread the word about Oakley’s need for a second K-9 unit – and the community responded while he was Mayor of Oakley. Local businesses and residents contributed more than $12,000 to bring Oleg over from Germany and send him through K-9 training.

Below are links to both article in the respective papers.

Oakley Press Article by Sammie by Samie Hartley

Contra Costa Times Article by Robert Salonga

About burkforoakley

I call it like I see it . I love my city, I love my community and I want what is best for the people around me. Do the right thing, I will support you. Do the wrong thing, I will oppose you!
This entry was posted in Around Oakley, Police Dept.. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oakley Police Dog Featured in Competing Local Papers

  1. voter says:

    Oleg is a wonderful K-9 that will bring the Department many years of service. To all the businesses and residents who donated a heartfelt thank you. The city and its Officers will be a little more safe.

Leave a Reply

