An Open Letter to No/Low Income Haters

This was a piece written by Oakley Resident Myk Mills if you have not seen it as a response to all the “haters” of the No Low Income crowd at Carol Lane this week. I think it’s a nice read.

By Myk Mills

Dear NO/LOW income haters,

My wife and I were NO income when we were first married. We relied on our Pell Grants and Welfare for the first few years of our marriage to survive. As the years went by we worked hard and got through school. We worked ourselves out from NO income to LOW income. We worked even harder and now we are no longer LOW income and have far surpassed NO income.

But any way you slice it, it was our hard work and determination that helped us dig ourselves out of the hole we were in. So when I say that everyone needs to stop belittling NO/LOW income families, I mean it from the bottom of my heart.

I question whether most of you would actually say what you are saying o Facebook to someone’s face.  Would you say it to mine?

I’ll make every effort to make it to the next city council meeting where I will give everyone the opportunity to repeat to me what you’ve said on here against NO/LOW income families.

Do you know what a LOW income family is defined as? I don’t. According to the US Department of Education http://tinyurl.com/2czr928 for a family of 5 LOW income is making under $39,255 annually. Take a second and click the link to look for yourself and ask, “Am I low income?” If you’re not, how close are you? And if you don’t know what you make annually, think about your hourly income. If you make $10/hour and work 40 hours per week, assuming a normal 2 weeks of vacation per year and 5 sick days you’ll gross approximately $20,000.

If you’re the only person in your household who is working and you make $20/hour, work 40/week, with a two week vacation, 5 days sick, you should gross around $40,000. That’s a bit close to that $39,255.

Keep in mind “LOW income” scales. That TV family with 19 kids would be considered “Low income” by the US Gov’t if the household’s annual gross is less than $136,000. Kind of mind boggling, eh?

Now check out http://tinyurl.com/6hh63a , some definitions of “low income” say that it’s twice the Federal Poverty Level. That would mean for a family of 5 (mine) if we make under $55,000 we’re “Low income”.

So what I’m trying to get at is, get off this NO and LOW income trip you’re on. If you haven’t been there, you’re blessed. If you have and worked your way out, you’re blessed. If you’re still there, I hope your blessing is coming soon.

If you want to complain about lazy people or freeloaders, feel free. But for all you know those 324 units they want to put in will be filled with 324 Steve Jobs. You wouldn’t complain then, would you?

If you don’t understand the definition of “low income”, don’t use it. It’s like asking all of your friends and family if they want to fornicate with you on Friday night. Hey, you thought it meant “go have a beer” right?

Sincerely

Myk Mills

 

About burkforoakley

I call it like I see it . I love my city, I love my community and I want what is best for the people around me. Do the right thing, I will support you. Do the wrong thing, I will oppose you!
This entry was posted in Around Oakley, Contra Costa County, East County. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

