Oakley Tests Online Council Meeting Video Recordings

Rowena Coetsee of the Contra Costa Times put out a nice article this afternoon entitled Oakley council rethinks opposition to online meetings which a council meeting video slipped online the other day. After being posted on Facebook by myself and others, city staff decided to put a password protection on the video making it un-viewable.

I am not really sure why the city felt the need to password protect a public meeting, but that is neither here nor there, but it appears the city has had a change of heart on the online video debate after saying no to it months ago.

According to the City, staff was still making tweaks (whatever that means) which are why the video had a password protection.

In Coetsee’s article, Mayor Romick said the council is scheduled to make a decision on the online video at the Feb. 28 meeting.

Romick is quoted stating the following.

“We were just listening to the public,” he said, noting that the city has found a less expensive and less labor-intensive way to convert the video into a format that’s viewable online. Residents have said they don’t care if the quality isn’t top-notch, Romick added, and the city already has the recording equipment.

“My gut feeling is that it will pass,” Romick said.

Video is nice to have, but the audio could have been posted all along at very little cost and effort to the City. I guess sometimes things like this simply have to be more difficult than they need to be. At least Oakley residents, and the world, can soon be able to watch recordings at one’s own leisure in the near future rather than showing up to a meeting.

Maybe next we can add a conference call line for residents who want to issue public comments from anywhere the receive phone service.

About burkforoakley

I call it like I see it . I love my city, I love my community and I want what is best for the people around me. Do the right thing, I will support you. Do the wrong thing, I will oppose you!
This entry was posted in Around Oakley, City Council. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

