Santa Clause Shaves for a Cause Drawing Tonight

I hope to see you all tonight as ECCFPD Director Robert (Bob) Kenny will be drawing the winner tonight to determine when and where Mr. Kenny will shave his “Santa” beard. The event will be held at the San Joaquin Yacht Club after the Town Hall meeting.

Repost from January, 29 2012.

Robert Kenny (Bob), who you may know for having a Santa Beard in the winter is raising money for local firefighter Willie Wests Family Education Fund by raffling off the where, when, and who will trim his Santa beard.


(Click to Enlarge)

This is a wonderful idea and out of the box way to raise money for a local firefighter and his family.

Mr. West was first diagnosed with prostate cancer late last year after a work injury sent him to the hospital where they discovered the cancer. After conducting other tests, doctors discovered lesions in his liver and lower back. West said his doctors like the progress he’s made since beginning treatment in November, but he knows he’s got a long road ahead of him.

Mr. West has been with the District since 2002 and works at Station 94 in Knightsen. He is in his 50’s. Prior to working with the District, he was also an AMR EMT in Alameda County. He was hired during the merger in 2002 and was one of the Oakley volunteers who was hired full time

Mr. Kenny, was quoted in the Brentwood Press a few weeks ago saying “It’s a small gesture but a fun way to create awareness and support for one of our local firefighters.”

Tickets $5 and the drawing will be held February 29, 2012 at the San Joaquin Yacht Club. For more information call Robert Kenny 925/684-9283.

For Mr. Kenny’s sake, I hope he sets a deadline as to when someone will have to shave the beard, I would hate to see someone elect not to trim his beard.

About burkforoakley

I call it like I see it . I love my city, I love my community and I want what is best for the people around me. Do the right thing, I will support you. Do the wrong thing, I will oppose you!
This entry was posted in Contra Costa County, East County, Fire Dept.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

