Pope Uses City Email For Contest

Unless the City Council of Oakley endorses an event or sponsors a contest, no one should be using their city email for anything other than city business. If you want to be partisan to a political party, do so without a city email and use your personal one.  These are two lessons Councilman Randy Pope needs to learn as this is a clear misuse of public funds no matter how little the amount may be.

As a city councilman, one of the duties is to remain a-political and to use a city email for city business only. Instead, Randy Pope is offering a gift to the California Federation of Republican Women while using his city email for non-city business.

While I can applaud Mr. Pope for taking part in the contest as this contest benefits two student’s who will attend an Advocacy Workshop Day in Sacramento according to the Contra Costa Times, he is clearly not acting very ethical by having students submit via his city address. This is not about the kids because its a fantastic contest, but rather its about ethical behavior and using public funds for a political party’s gain.

In a twisted way, it’s almost as if he is promoting that the city sponsored this contest by using his city email and this has not been on any agenda item that I have seen.

City emails should be used for city business, not for political gain and to build popularity. I would encourage Mr. Pope to swap out the city email for his personal address immediately.

CC Times Article

http://www.contracostatimes.com/contra-costa-county/ci_20327807/oakley-students-can-apply-help-attend-advocacy-workshop

About burkforoakley

I call it like I see it . I love my city, I love my community and I want what is best for the people around me. Do the right thing, I will support you. Do the wrong thing, I will oppose you!
This entry was posted in Around Oakley, East County. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pope Uses City Email For Contest

  1. Frank Spinelli says:

    Geez

Leave a Reply

