CCTV: Measure S Debate Replay

For those like myself who were unable to attend the Measure S debate tonight between Vince Wells and Kris Hunt, according to the County website, as of now their will be at least 4-replays of the forum.

The CCTV will air the debate beginning on Sunday May 13 with a label of “Election Preview – Measure S East Contra Costa Fire District Parcel Tax”.

In looking at the dates and times, I think it stinks that little priority was given to such an important topic.  With that said, lets hope their is something available online in order to better get the information out.

Dates:

  • Sunday, May 13 @ 9:00 pm
  • Sunday, May 20 @ 9:00 pm
  • Sunday, May 27 @ 9:00 pm
  • Wednesday, May 30 @ 8:00 pm

http://www.co.contra-costa.ca.us/index.aspx?NID=1533

About burkforoakley

I call it like I see it . I love my city, I love my community and I want what is best for the people around me. Do the right thing, I will support you. Do the wrong thing, I will oppose you!
This entry was posted in Around Oakley, East County, Fire Dept.. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to CCTV: Measure S Debate Replay

  1. Bob says:

    I highly recommend people watch one of these replays. Somebody got their lunch eaten.

    Just sayin.

    While we’re at it, the argument from Kris Hunt seems to have morphed now to the fire district not taking responsibility for this dire situation. As Vince Wells noted at the debate, revenues to the district have collapsed along with the housing prices collapse. Going from $12M 5 years ago to only $8M this year.

    So why is Kris Hunt saying the district or the board should be shouldering blame for that?

    If revenues has only remained flat during that time, we are not sitting here talking about closing stations. Another inconvenient fact for the CoCoTax and opposition argument.

    BTW #2, after people watch the replay perhaps someone can explain something to me. Kris keep insisting the $197 being asked for isn’t sufficient to fix the problem. Then in the next sentence we should instead be asking for the $96 that was first proposed. I thought it was odd the first time she said it. By the third time I thought I was officially in a Twilight Zone episode.

    Somebody watch it and then please explain to me how if $197 isn’t enough to fix the problem, but $96 is. I guess I don’t translate too well.

    • Bob, its obvious she is being a hypocrite while comparing apples to oranges. If $197 doesn’t fix it, how can $96? At least $197 buys us 10 years to fix it while bring service levels up to par.

Leave a Reply

