Lemyre: Keep Critical Services, Vote Yes on Measure S

Rick Lemyre put out a beautiful piece in his paper today acknowledging a few important facts that should be shared with voters before they head to the polls. He is correct when he points out the debate over Measure S has gotten caught up in a raging debate over the much larger problem, the need for pension reform.

As I’ve tried to hammer the message over the last few days which highlights the Contra Costa Taxpayers Association did not have public safety in mind, it had pension control in mind. But as Rick points out, not all the solutions can occur at one time and their is a timeline, but crippling emergency services does no one a favor.

Its a great read and Mr. Lemyre, I salute you for this piece!

Editorial: Keep critical services, Vote Yes on Measure S
by Rick Lemyre
Jun 04, 2012

The dispute over Measure S, the $197-per-parcel tax for the East Contra Costa Fire Protection District going before voters Tuesday, has gotten dangerously sidetracked. It has gotten caught up in a raging debate over the much larger problem, the need for pension reform, and a crippling 50 percent cut in fire stations and firefighters could be the result.

Full Article

About burkforoakley

I call it like I see it . I love my city, I love my community and I want what is best for the people around me. Do the right thing, I will support you. Do the wrong thing, I will oppose you!
This entry was posted in Around Oakley, Brentwood, East County, Fire Dept.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

