Oakley Council Eliminates Pensions for New Members

If Oakley residents are tired of paying pensions to City Councilmembers, then anyone in office who is running for re-election this November may have a tough time getting re-elected with the anti-pension movement striking through the County.

If I am a candidate, I pretty much campaign on, “vote for me, I do not get a pension unlike the current councilmembers in office”.  Regardless of how small this pension actually is, you bring up pensions and it’s a slam dunk!

While the City Council did vote 5-0 to eliminate pensions on future City Councilmembers, I’d like to address a few things Rowena Coetsee left out of her article this morning.

  1. Anyone elected to the council had no choice on whether or not to accept a pension or not. It was automatic so none of them had a choice.  So really, my statement above does not fly to those who actually are paying attention to the history–problem is, not many people care about the history, they see dollar signs!
  2. This was brought up by Councilman Jim Frazier to end pensions–he pushed for it being retroactive to the current council, but the law did not allow it.
About burkforoakley

I call it like I see it . I love my city, I love my community and I want what is best for the people around me. Do the right thing, I will support you. Do the wrong thing, I will oppose you!
This entry was posted in Around Oakley, City Council. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

