Station 93 Saves 76 Gas Station on E-18 St.

I happened to be driving home when I saw smoke getting off the freeway at Main Street in Oakley (across from McDonald’s). Instead of going my normal right on Main Street, I went left on E-18 towards K-Mart and saw a fire starting to get out of control behind the 76 gas station car wash in the K-Mart parking lot.

Shortly after I parked, Station 93 came in and really kicked some butt while CONFIRE was not far behind to add assistance which is the beauty of the current mutual/auto aid!

Here are some pictures I took from the incident using an iPhone. While this fire may have been small, a two-man crew would have not been able to prevent what could have happened with a gas station possibility going up in smoke!

Nice work 93 and thanks for the assist CONFIRE!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About burkforoakley

I call it like I see it . I love my city, I love my community and I want what is best for the people around me. Do the right thing, I will support you. Do the wrong thing, I will oppose you!
This entry was posted in Antioch, Around Oakley, Fire Dept.. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Station 93 Saves 76 Gas Station on E-18 St.

  1. Barbara DuMont says:

    Hey Mike

    I will add another fire call to your blog. Last night around 9 PM I heard Engine 94 rolling out of Knightsen. I tuned into the scanner to hear that they were rolling on a women down in the field with a horse fall injury behind 2151 E. Cypress Rd. that next door to us. We went out to look as no one here owns horses and we haven’t seen anyone on a horse in the back pasture, rancher uses ATVs. We couldn’t find her. We had Bat 5, Engine 94, AMR, QRV, 395 driving up and down the road looking for the victim. REACH was flying overhead searching also. The only suggestion I could give to the Bat Chief was that there were horse behind us on the other side of the levee. Sure enough, she wasn’t in the field behind 2151, she was on the other side of Rock Slough way back in the field. Moral of the story-when you call 911, PLEASE make sure that you give clear directions of your location. When we close stations, the FF just can’t spend 15 minutes looking for you AND there may not be people around who know their neighborhoods and can figure out where you are!

    • What a mess that is and a nice example of how these things do take time on scene and the resources required for an incident–these guys never know what they are arriving to.

Leave a Reply

