Paddle For Fame Sets New World Record

Some good news in East County today as 621 paddlers were connected during the Paddle for Fame event today which set a new world record. Out of 719 possible in attendance, 621 paddles were connected beating last years record of 492.

According to Amanda Dove, the count was verified and captured in the photos taken by  photographer Leila Hauck.

Information Via Amanda Dove’s Facebook Post.

About burkforoakley

I call it like I see it . I love my city, I love my community and I want what is best for the people around me. Do the right thing, I will support you. Do the wrong thing, I will oppose you!
This entry was posted in Discovery Bay, East County. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Paddle For Fame Sets New World Record

  1. Jeff B says:

    Sadly is was only a matter of time before this formerly nice event went all DB.

    Don’t get me wrong, I like fun on the water and I’ve spent time at Lanier, Cumberland, Norman, Havasu, Powell, LO and several others that are a crazy blast. But this thing took on a low-end ‘ski beach’ vibe and there was a lot of stupid/rude stuff going on. Probably no fault of the organizers…it’s just the way things go around here.

    For all you who will now get pissy for my honest commentary…I’m sorry. But sun, fun, music and some cocktails on the water are great but ghetto behavior is not. It is a shame when the minority cast dispersions over a nice event like this that people work hard to put on. Those who ignore it become part of the problem.

    It was probably the later time of the event that brought out the cruddy local element. Sad that you have plan things around when this under belly is still sacked out.

    By the way…while typing this I am listening to the pre-release (free on iTunes) of the new Zac Brown album Uncaged, it is really excellent.

    cheers

    jb

Leave a Reply

